Linking to an existing account

Linking to an existing account

When you link to another customer's existing account, you gain access and control over that Bing Ads account.

An account link is a powerful thing. When you link to another customer's account, you gain access and control over that Bing Ads account, including:

  • Running campaigns
  • Ability to take over billing and payment responsibilities
  • Granting and removing account access
  • Other account management activities

Conversely, if you give someone access to your account, that person—known as a managing customer—has full control to manage your account and your advertising. This includes the ability to take over billing.

Note

As an account owner, you always have control on who has access to your account. You can grant access for up to five managing customers on your account. You can also remove their access at any time.

You can opt to take over billing when you link to an account. When you do so, you assume responsibility for all advertising charges, including any charges that are pending when the link is established. Therefore, it's best to have an agreement in place with the current bill-to customer (which may be the account owner or another third party) before proceeding with this optional step.

Taking over billing

If you take over billing, you'll need to have a valid payment method on hand. If you plan to prepay the account or use monthly invoice billing, take note:

  • If you are trying to fund a prepay account that is in a country/region that taxes online services like Bing Ads, we might be required to deduct tax from the prepay amount. Here are tax requirements for each country/region.
  • For a monthly invoice account, you'll need to create an insertion order to serve ads, or else the account will be paused.

Keep in mind

Before you link to another account, you'll need to work with the account owner to have a few things ready:

  • Have the account number of the account you'd like to link to.
  • Determine the start date, which can be immediate or scheduled for a later date.
  • Agree on who is responsible for billing.
Link to an account expando image

To link to an account:

  1. Click the gear icon gear icon, and then click Accounts & Billing.
  2. Click the Requests tab.
  3. Click Link to account.
  4. Under Linking details, enter the Account number.
    The account number is an 8-digit mix of numbers and letters.
  5. Enter the Start date, which is the date you want to start managing the account.
  6. Add an optional Note, which you can use as a helpful note to the account owner.
  7. Click Send request if you don't wish to take over billing.
Take over billing expando image
  1. Provide the Linking details outlined in the linking steps.
  2. Select I will take over billing for this account for Who pays.
  3. Select How you pay (prepay, postpay threshold, or monthly invoice) and What you pay with (your payment method).
    For monthly invoice accounts, we encourage you to create an insertion order so that the account will continue to serve ads even as the management responsibilities change hands.
  4. Click Send request.

We'll send an email to the account owner, notifying them of the linking request. The owner has 30 days to accept the request. After 30 days, the request is automatically declined.

Find your account link and unlink requests expando image
  1. Click the gear icon gear icon, and then click Accounts & Billing.
  2. Click the Requests tab. There, you'll see a grid containing account link and unlink requests.
Stop managing a linked accountexpando image

If you no longer want to manage someone else's account, you need to unlink from them. Once you start this process, no one can make changes to the account for up to 2 hours.

  1. Click the gear icon gear icon, and then click Accounts & Billing.
  2. On the Accounts tab, select the linked account.
  3. Click Unlink from account.
  4. Enter the Start date, which is the date you want to stop managing the account.
  5. Add an optional Note, which you can use as a helpful note to the account owner.
  6. Click Unlink.

Note: If you unlink from an account where you are the bill-to customer responsible for billing, the account will be paused. Before you unlink, we encourage you to work with the account owner on setting up a new bill-to customer.

See more videos...